Bypolls To 3 Lok Sabha, 7 Assembly Seats Today: 5 Updates

Two of the three Lok Sabha seats are in Uttar Pradesh. (Representational image)

New Delhi:
Bypolls to three Lok Sabha and seven assembly seats are taking place across six states today. The results of these votes will be announced on Sunday (June 26).

Here are the top 5 updates on this story:

  1. Bypolls in Azamgarh were necessitated by the resignation of Samajwadi Party (SP) chief Akhilesh Yadav, who was elected to the Uttar Pradesh Legislative Assembly as an MLA in the elections earlier this year. The Rampur seat was vacated by senior Samajwadi Party leader Azam Khan, who too was elected to the state Assembly. 

  2. Bypoll in Sangrur, Punjab was called after Bhagwant Mann vacated the seat after winning the assembly polls. He is currently the state’s chief minister.

  3. One of the seven assembly seats where by-election will be held is Rajinder Nagar in Delhi, vacated by Raghav Chadha of the AAP who became a Rajya Sabha member recently.

  4. The remaining assembly seats where bypolls will be held are Mandar in Jharkhand, Atmakur in Andhra Pradesh, and Agartala, Town Bordowali, Surma and Jubarajnagar in Tripura.

  5. The bypolls will help the poll panel fill up vacancies in the electoral collage which elects the President of India. The presidential election could be held sometime in July.

Source link

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.